Laughter

the human race has one really effective weapon

Falconetti as Joan of Arc

Loren Connors Scores “The Passion of Joan of Arc”

Leave a comment

still from the Passion of Joan of ArcCarl Theodor Dreyer’s La Passion de Jeanne d’Arc has a new soundtrack thanks to one of my favorite guitarists, Loren Connors. It’s available as part of the new Blu-ray edition of the movie from Eureka Video in the UK. Unfortunately, Eureka links directly to Amazon.com for all purchases. I don’t normally support that company, but I don’t know where else to find the movie yet. It comes in a regular and a special “Steelbook” edition, which Amazon currently lists for approximately $29 US. It includes two soundtracks, newly translated English subtitles, an alternate “Lo Duca” cut of the film, and a 100-page illustrated book.

Wire Magazine has posted a Vimeo preview of the new Connors soundtrack, which I’ve posted below. I first saw Passion via the Criterion Collection edition, which features Richard Einhorn’s Voices of Light soundtrack. I’m not sure I’ve ever seen a better movie. If you’ve never seen it paired with that music, I highly recommend it.

And here’s a piece from Einhorn’s soundtrack:

Author: Laughter

I like music and philosophy. And baseball.

Leave a Reply

